Getting ready for Warhammer World in October: part 1

I wasn’t going to post early in order to build up a reserve list of posts but I want to put up a work in progress list for my trip in October now before it changes too much! As it is, the list I wrote two days ago is already slightly out of date. There won’t be any new pictures with this post as I’m in the process of tidying things up and a few things are waiting for me to post all about them properly (so no big spoilers, hey). Hopefully the next “getting ready” post will have evidence of progress.

I’m splitting everything into four categories: Ready, In Progress, Under Construction and Needed. I’m not entirely happy with the list “as is” but it uses models I already have. Once they are ready(ish) and if I still have time, I might go off piste and build something different. I’ve also got some Harlequins simmering away part painted (waiting for some edge paints for the test model) but the first priority is to get 1000 points done. I’m actually having a slight “hand” dilemma at the moment as I don’t have quite enough empty hands to go round. If that carries on being the case, I will be buying more kits out of desperation (I have spare marine arms, Lizardmen arms and access to Daemon and Ork arms, none of which are the right size or shape) or tweaking my ideas to fit what I have.

So here is the list at the time of writing:

Ready
Autrach Skyrunner (on Cold One) with power weapon
Spiritseer (could be a Farseer or Warlock depending on points and future planning)
Rangers x5
Windriders (on Terradons) x3
Shining Spears (on Cold Ones) x3, includes Exarch with power weapon. Note: one needs minor repairs
Crimson Hunter Exarch

In Progress
7x Rangers: need highlighting
3x Rangers: undercoated
1x Shining Spear: needs highlighting
1x Farseer Skyrunner (Cold One): undercoated

Under Construction
1x Farseer Skyrunner (Cold One) with Shining Spear: Green stuff work
1x Warlock Skyrunner (Cold One): In bits

Needed
1x Warlock Skyrunner (Cold One)

Currently this all adds up to 1006 points and a lot of problems, namely an over-abundance of HQs. I was originally thinking of adding a Seer Council formation to my list as it goes nicely with my theme (Elves! On Dinosaurs!) and fluff (Exodites defending their home against allcomers) but that’s very points heavy. In the end I may have to drop the Spiritseer and have two CADs and spend the newly released points on something else. The other thing I’m missing is something other than a Flyer that can deal with armour. I played with my Exodites in a Tactical Strike Event where I was twice stymied (once was my own fault for forgetting that I had grenades on my Autarch) for having nothing that could deal with vehicles. The Crimson Hunter packs a very hefty punch but at the moment it’s the only thing that does. If I have time I’ll add some more heavy weapons to my list somehow or other.

Anyhow, my next job is to finish this highlighting! Until then!

L.o.F.

Edit: Oops! I forgot to add a link. If you want to know how the Red Squig is getting on with his 1000 points of Orks, look here: http://www.redsquigracing.com/post/2015/08/09/The-Challenge

Leave a comment