Zone Morktalis part 1: Introduction

Well, I’ve moved house but we’re currently minus internet thanks to the mysterious and Wonderland-like ways of ISPs (you would think that we’re paying for a service, right?) who having not had time to install the box thatwe are perfectly capable of installing ourselves if they’d let us, on the day on which they told us they’d be there, moved us to the back of the queue again. I’m also sick, the inevitable move-to-a-new-area cold having transmogrified into a chest infection that Papa Nurgle would be proud of. This is all by means of an apology for such a short, late post.

I’ve done a bit of painting recently and hopefully I’ll have a post up as soon as I have internet, complete with pictures. I’m also working on my boyfriend’s Christmas present which he knows about after I had a crisis of conscience over the fact that I might not being too altruistic with it. What I’m planning on building for him is a gaming board, in particular an Ork themed Zone Mortalis board- a Zone Morktalis, if you please.

Now, I love Forgeworld’s Zone Mortalis boards, they’re just so cool! They’re also so expensive! They justify their cost but I wanted to make a themed board that suited our armies more, in particular The Red Squig’s Orks (go and look at them here!). I have a history of Ork related presents for my boyfriend, dating back to the box of goodies I gave him back in 2011 as a start to his collection, and I enjoy playing against them as much as he enjoys using them.

Ork_box

I’m building the board on cork flooring tiles as they come in convenient 12” squares. The rules for Zone Mortalis are available for free from the Forgeworld site and they gave a lot of good ideas. So far I’ve marked up the tiles and bought balsa wood and plasticard for the next stage- building up walls and buildings. I’ve no images yet but hopefully in my next post I can show some progress pictures. I’m planning to keep a log of my progress and post it here, culminating with showing the final squares (or as many as I have done) after Christmas.

Until the next post then (hopefully not posted from the library again)

2 responses to “Zone Morktalis part 1: Introduction

  1. Pingback: Zone Morktalis part 2: Marking Up the Squares | Lost on Fenris

  2. Pingback: Zone Morktalis part 3: Six done… | Lost on Fenris

Leave a Reply

