Space Marines are… Oops

Sorry for the lack of posts recently. I’ve been struck by a severe case of lack of motivation caused by a combination of work/life and my painting plans getting derailed by the introduction of the new Citadel spray paints, me making Plans involving them, and then finding out that they are not available in my region. Hopefully, I can get back into a painting mood soon and that will lead to me blogging more.

Anyway, the Space Marine codex has been out a whole two months and I’ve read it… multiple times. I’ve been tempted to start a small force of Space Marines but I’ve managed to talk myself out of it for now as I have two and a bit armies to work on already!

What I’m also still very excited about, several weeks later, is the Tactical Marines box. I’m so excited about it that I daren’t cut any bits out to use, which kind of isn’t the purpose! I have “assigned” certain parts though. The Mk. IV legs are going to go to a future Rune Priest project, that’s just waiting for my current projects to move on a bit (or I get bored). Other parts will be used in future Space Wolves and maybe some more Blood Angels. While the legs are still in that strange standing Space Marine pose, it has been tweaked slightly, making them far more dynamic. The sculpts themselves are more detailed too.

Also more dynamic are the arms. The extra hands, holding a magazine or pointing, look like they’ll be good for conversions. The hands have been moulded to the weapons rather than the arms on the weapons, which is a bit different and I’m not sure how it’ll affect fitting bolters after painting, which I find helps with painting the torso. There are a nice combination of different weapon types and designs, including a combiweapon (which might end up on a Wolf Guard model).

The kit comes on three unique sprues which leads to less duplication than was seen on the old sprue or in the Space Wolves Pack box. Hopefully, when I get my motivation back, I’m going to have a lot of fun with this kit. I just hope that the Wolves get Grav Guns when their time comes!

Leave a Reply

