High Elves and Handmaidens

You’ve possibly heard me moan about female models before, it’s something that I find vaguely curious, both from a personal point of view, I’d like to build an all or majority female army some time in the future, and a more general point of view, regarding the portrayal of the female figure versus that of the male one (and the whole big boobies thing). However, today I’m feeling all positive about female models, thanks to the new High Elves.

I have to admit that High Elves by themselves don’t really interest me and my first instinct upon opening White Dwarf was to giggle at the names of the two phoenix models, who sound as if they were named by teenage girls (there’s a strong teenage girl vein running through a lot of the new High Elf releases to be honest- it’s kind of sweet). However, upon looking again at some of the pictures I spied two units that really interested me model-wise: The Sisters of Avelorn and the Handmaiden of the Everqueen. I really, really like these models, not just because of what they are, but also because of what they represent. In these two kits Games Workshop have given us female warriors who are exactly that. They’re slender rather than dangerously buxom and they’re clad like, well, warriors. The Handmaiden of the Everqueen shows a bit more flesh, but wow, she looks like she means serious business.

This is what I like to see in female models, the same things that I look for in male, monstrous or robotic models, figures that represent what the character is. I think that these two kits really do that. I have to admit that I don’t know any of their rules, but they’re described as either archers or a bodyguard and they look like that! It’s a pity about the little hearts everywhere, but that seems to be the teenage girl influence again.

I’m not so keen on the Everqueen herself, but I think that might be the painting style. The eyeshadow and lipstick make her a look a little bit more of a tart than a fairy queen!

I’m tempted to buy the Handmaiden, but I really shouldn’t, I still haven’t painted Valkia yet and, unlike Warriors of Chaos I don’t like the whole army enough to consider picking them up (I’m still avoiding taking up Warhammer Fantasy- just). However, I like these models and I really wanted to highlight them with a blog post. I don’t give marks out of 10 but they’d be a solid 9 or 9.5 if I did (losing half a point for the twee little hearts).

Anyway, I should get back to my painting, so that I have models ready for my next kitbash post. If I haven’t managed to persuade you to at least take a look at these models by now, I never will!

L.o.F.

Leave a Reply

