On the ninth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me…

Nine different tools…

Yes, I know that I should have posted this well over a week ago, I got distracted, sorry!

Anyway, today’s post is going to be about tools, namely the tools that I use for modelling. I’ve not included paintbrushes in the list as I don’t use particularly good brushes and I decided to focus on the tools I use for building and converting miniatures.

tools

 1. Clippers

These are actually our second set. When my boyfriend got back into the hobby he bought a set of modelling tools off the internet including a set of plastic clippers. Unfortunately they did not survive me, so I had to buy a new set from Games Workshop. Their tools tend to be a little bit overpriced but the quality is fairly good and I did not have to wait weeks for an internet order to arrive to get them which is a definite bonus when you’re in the middle of a project.

 2. Files

These were part of my boyfriend’s initial set of tools (and still are, I’m only borrowing them, honest). I use the triangular file for most things, but the round one is very useful for gun barrels etc.. I also use, but haven’t included in the picture, finishing abrasives, particularly when I want to smooth down green stuff. The files came from Army Painter originally I think. They’re a must for smoothing edges and removing mould lines. I also use them to shave down surfaces so that I can adjust the pose of a model better.

 3. Tweezers

Another Army Painter purchase, but tweezers are fairly easy to get hold of from craft shops. You can even use the ones from the chemist, but craft ones have better ends to them for modelling purposes.

 4. Razor Saw

Vital if, like me, you chop up models in order to convert them. Clamp the model down first (see 5) and make sure that you cut a guide line in first before you really start sawing.

 5. Vice

This one has a suction pad to hold it to the table (usually). Using a vice means that you can hold a model still particularly if you are cutting or drilling. Some sort of clamp is vital if you plan to do a lot of converting or drill out the barrels on any weapons.

 6. Drill bits

The smallest drill bit in the picture is 1mm in diameter and I use it for drilling out the barrels on my bolt pistols. I use larger ones for bigger gun barrels, for drilling out holes for pinning rods or wires and for removing traces of weapon grips from hands. A pin vice can be used to hold the drill bit in place but I tend to just use the bits loose as I mostly work with plastic.

 7. Scalpel

These are fairly easy to get hold of. I use mine for removing difficult or delicate parts from the sprue, shaving off mould lines, cutting any bits that are too small or awkward for the razor saw, and cutting and shaping green stuff.

 8. Clay tool (scraper?)

I don’t know what this is called and the art shop where I bought it doesn’t have a website. I think that it’s called a clay scraper or kidney. It is very, very useful though. I use it to get a smooth surface on green stuff. I have to use a lot of Vaseline on the tool otherwise it sticks, but I can use it to smooth down flat surfaces such as cloaks and banners. By flattening the green stuff crudely with a flat edged tool or using my scalpel as a rolling pin, I can then smooth green stuff out until it is thinner than 1mm using this tool.

 9. Shaping tools.

These come from a variety of places. The one on the left comes from Games Workshop, the three in the middle come from Army Painter and the one on the right is an embossing tool from a craft shop. They all have roughly the same role though, moulding and cutting and manipulating green stuff.

Anyway, these are most of the tools I use in order to make my figures, the most important ones anyway. Happy converting!

L.o.F.

…Eight books to look at…

…Seven days of hobbying…

… Learning sixth edition…

…Fifth Edition!…

…Four more excuses…

…Three things to think of…

Two different opinions

And a gift under the Christmas Tree

3 responses to “On the ninth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me…

  1. Pingback: On the tenth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  2. Pingback: On the eleventh day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  3. Pingback: On the twelfth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

Leave a Reply

