On the first day of Christmas the hobby meant to me…

… A gift under the Christmas Tree

Not a gift to me, but a gift for my boyfriend. I’m not revealing what this year’s gift is, partly because I don’t know what time I’m sending this and partly because I haven’t bought everything yet this year.

It’s strangely difficult to get gifts for other hobbyists. I’ve done it a few times now and I think that it comes down to two problems “what do they want” and “what do they have”. I have enough problems when somebody asks me the first question, it’s much more difficult to guess for somebody else. It can be incredibly good fun though. I do feel sorry for those people outside the hobby who are asked to get a “Doom Scythe” or a “Heldrake” or even a box of “Tactical Marines”. The internet probably helps a lot, but, if like me, you like to find surprises for people, trying to understand something that you’re not all that familiar with just enough for you to get the right gift is a little bit daunting. You can ask somebody else that you know who is involved in it all, but they may not be familiar with the army in question (and standing in a store trying to explain it all to somebody is not easy), or you can do your research online, but there’s only so far that you can go without any knowledge of what something is called.

Anyway, Merry Christmas and I hope that you got what you wanted this year (if you celebrate Christmas that is). I’ll be back tomorrow with another short post about something related vaguely to the hobby or the blog.

L.o.F.

10 responses to “On the first day of Christmas the hobby meant to me…

  1. Pingback: On the second day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  2. Pingback: On the third day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  3. Pingback: On the fourth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  4. Pingback: On the fifth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  5. Pingback: On the seventh day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  6. Pingback: On the eighth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  7. Pingback: On the ninth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  8. Pingback: On the tenth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  9. Pingback: On the eleventh day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

  10. Pingback: On the twelfth day of Christmas the hobby meant to me… | Lost on Fenris

Leave a Reply

