Drill bits, White Dwarf, Glue and Fantasy

Well there was no post last night because I’ve been making very little progress. For some reason on Saturday I decided to drill out the barrels on the guns on all of my models. I ruined two bolt pistols before I decided that I need a finer drill bit. Of course the shop in town doesn’t have any, so I’m going to have to trek to the out of town DIY store.

I finally managed to pick up September’s White Dwarf (the Dark Vengeance one). I haven’t been to my local GW for a while- things keep getting in my way, either life in general or the Formula 1 or Moto GP on the telly. However I broke so many bits off my metal models that I needed new super glue and, as there is a dearth of model shops in my area I gave in and decided to buy a tube of the  Citadel stuff. I’ve been using normal super glue but I’ve not been happy with it as it’s either too liquid or not liquid enough for what I want. That meant that if I wanted to make progress this week I’d have to catch a train and go to my local GW.

I wasn’t overly impressed with this month’s White Dwarf, I bought it in order to look at the pictures but I reckon that I’m getting picky these days as I wasn’t overly impressed. I’m looking forward to the new improved White Dwarf- I always tend to try and keep optimistic about books and magazines but White Dwarf is currently missing something (possibly content). Hopefully the reboot will revitalize it a bit. I’m not too bothered about the price, compared to the other magazines that I read it’s not so bad, what I am worried about is that there’ll somehow be even less content. I guess that I’ll find out on Saturday.

A much better read was Valkia the Bloody by Sarah Cawkwell. I know that it’s Warhammer Fantasy rather than 40K but it’s a book that I’ve been thinking about getting since it came out. I was hoping to get a copy when I was back in the UK but I couldn’t find one. I have to say that it was well worth the wait. It’s a great read- I got through it in an afternoon, I couldn’t put it down, and while I know very little about Warhammer Fantasy (the cross over with Daemons is very helpful) it was perfectly understandable as a stand alone novel. It was strange just how compelling Valkia was. I knew as I read the book that she was Not a Very Nice Person but I couldn’t stop cheering for her even during her most skull snatching, blood spilling scenes. It’s not a long book, so if you haven’t read it yet, go and pick up a copy, you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

