Flyers, Scouts and Styrene

Just a quick note again. I’m off to a meeting tomorrow for a couple of days so there’s unlikely to be a post on Thursday. I don’t think that I’ll be dragging any Black Library books with me and I definitely won’t be doing any painting or modelling. I also might not be able to deal with any comments or problems as I don’t know how much internet access that I’ll have, or rather how much internet access I will have for fooling around on the web.

I managed to do my back in over the weekend so I’ve been trying (and failing) to ease back on the crafting side of things this evening, which meant that instead of spending an hour or two painting a Wolf Scout I decided to make a start on a bit of scenery. It’s not at a stage where I’m going to show pictures and things but it looks like it might be fun. I’m using plasticard (styrene sheets) to build it and I imagine that, once I get back from this trip and do some more work on it, there’ll be milliput or greenstuff involved. There will at least be candles to model- dribbly candles of course, and pools of gloop and gore. I’m trying to think of a way to meld together the base colours of my boyfriend’s daemons (grey) and my Wolves (snowy sand). I think that I have it, but I need to build up the basic shape first. It will be a bit of flat terrain that could be difficult or dangerous terrain or an objective of some sort.

I did make a start on painting one of my Wolf Scouts yesterday and today. I’m still pretty happy with the cloak I made, but it’s a bit tricky to paint. Still, I know that Scouts don’t take too long to paint and then I can move onto my Old School Long Fangs, which will then mean that I have room in the queue for the stuff I bought on Saturday.

This brings me on to Flyers. I picked up White Dwarf 390 on Saturday and it was actually pretty good. The trouble is that I now want a flyer and Space Wolves don’t seem to be getting one! I know, I know, Space Wolves are rather (very) over-powered, but, as you may have already guessed, I don’t play serious 40K. I find the MSU Space Wolf lists a little bit contrary to the spirit of the codex. I’m trying to build up a list with a raider theme- lots of fast attack in the form of bikes, speeders and wolves (without Wolf Guard on top- lazy sods) and a flyer would fit the theme. I guess that if I can’t have one, I’ll have to persuade my boyfriend that he really needs one for his Ork list!

I have to admit that the Storm Talon has really grown on me. The initial leaked pictures looked a bit ugly, but the pictures in the codex show that the vehicle has a bit more length than I initially thought and it looks really hot in Salamander green!

The Ork bombers look great fun and I look forward to seeing some of those about. They feel really orky and also have a wonderful hint of those days spent bodging together plastic planes when I was growing up.

The Necron Sythe thingies look quite, well, Necrony, but they haven’t grabbed my attention as much as the Space Marine and Ork flyers.

I guess that I should go to bed now and dream of aeroplanes. It’s just like being a kid all over again!

One response to “Flyers, Scouts and Styrene

  1. Just because you can’t field one doesn’t mean you shouldn’t buy a Storm Talon or two! I have (had) Raven Guard Stormravens, Rovert has an Ultramarines one, and I’ve seen some particularly snazzy Imperial Fists ones.

    Think of the coolness!

Leave a Reply

