Legends of the Space Marines: Cover of Darkness by Mitchel Scanlon

Well, I decided to do some “work” on the Eurostar (between the noise, why are adults so noisy some days) and review some more of the stories in Legends of the Space Marines. Unfortunately I hand wrote the posts in a notebook, which means I now have to try and read my handwriting. A while back I reviewed Hell Night by Nick Kyme but I really couldn’t get into the second story of the anthology, Cover of Darkness by Mitchel Scanlon. Now, I thought this was something to do with the Space Marines Battles book The Hunt for Voldorius, but that’s later and by a different author, which is probably a good thing.

The story is about the White Scars and I don’t like it, which is a pity as I don’t know much about them and this story doesn’t inspire me to read more.

Now when I read Hell Night, I felt that the story would have made more sense after reading Salamander (it did) as it assumed the reader knew things. This story goes far too far in the other direction, to the point of being clumsy. The thing that really spoils the story though is the ending. There’s a big reveal followed by an enormous deus ex machina which really spoils the end.

This is one of the weakest stories in the book and not one that encourages the reader to read more about the White Scars or by Mitchel Scanlon. I’m re-reading Descent of Angels soon and I’m going to look closely at it to see if the same problems emerge. I don’t remember it particularly standing out the first time round.

Right, I’m off out in a bit, more about that in a later post though!

One response to “Legends of the Space Marines: Cover of Darkness by Mitchel Scanlon

  1. Pingback: Legends of the Space Marines: Twelve Wolves by Ben Counter | Lost on Fenris

Leave a Reply

