Extreme list building part 4: The part where I use Excel

Links to parts one, two and three.

So somehow I managed to lose a day on this extreme list building thing but I’ve got all the data now. I was tempted to expand it to the other two codices in the house but Blood Angels is enormous and Sisters of Battle is rather small and I ran out of energy.

So here is a breakdown of the results. Like I said before, I’m new at all this, so if you spot any mistakes or would like to add to the pile of data, just let me know.

Points Breakdown

Figure 1 shows how the lists break down in terms of the force org. chart, showing how many of the 1500 points are each type of slot. For the armies with fewest figures HQs and Heavy Support provide a large chunk of the points, which I guess is kind of obvious. More interesting is the role of troops. For the Space Wolves and Orks both the lists with the fewest and the most troops have relatively similar numbers of troops. This is possibly because for both of the maximal lists I ran out of troop slots before I ran out of troops. Daemons on the other hand, lets you have a 1500 point list that is exclusively troop based bar the HQ choice. This is due to the relatively high cost of Daemonettes compared to Fenrisian Wolves and Gretchin. The limited variation in cost of daemon troops, is also why the list with the fewest models is dominated by the points bought by the three Daemon Princes, which are also individually the most expensive choices in all six lists.

figure 1: breakdown of the distribution of points in each list

Figure 2 divides the lists up by the number of models for each slot in the force org. It’s interesting to see the similarities between the lists with the fewest models. The three lists are mostly troops but Space Wolves and Orks only differ by one troops model. The lack of buffed troops for daemons means that they have more troops and also that Heavy Support takes up more of the model count than it does for the other two lists. For sheer model count though, Orks, or rather Gretchin, are running away with the trophy and any other associated loot.

figure 2: breakdown of the distribution of number of models in each list

Cost Breakdown

Figure 3 shows the army versus the cost of buying the models in euros. It doesn’t include the cost of glues and paints and psychiatric care/divorce fees when you try and paint that many Gretchin. In all cases, the armies with the fewest models are cheaper. Space Wolves are the most expensive, helped in the case of the maximal list by the cost of the Fenrisian Wolves. Deamons are the cheapest option in both cases, helped by the model count and the availability of plastic models.

figure 3: total cost of each list

Flexibility

The final thing that I’ll talk about is flexibility. I think that comparing the maximal and minimal lists might give a good indication of how flexible an army is. My reasoning is that the larger the difference in models between the largest and smallest lists for a given number of points, the more options you have in making and balancing lists, and the more flexible the list is.
So, I’ve calculated flexibility as

100 x ((no. models (maximal) – no. models (minimal))/no. models (maximal)).

For the armies that I’ve looked at I get a flexibility of 96.1% for Orks, 95% for Space Wolves and 86.5% for Daemons at 1500 points. This suggests that Chaos Daemons is less flexible. I’m not a Daemons player so I don’t know how accurate a measure this is, I’d have to learn the codex and look at flexibility for more codices before I can be certain that this is a valid measure (I don’t extrapolate trends from three data points). It might also be helpful to look at different points levels too in order to get a more realistic impression of a codex’s flexibility.

Well, that’s it for extreme lists, at least for now. I imagine I’ll get bored one day and decide that it won’t take too long to try something else… I guess that I can do some real hobbying for a few days, at least until my parents come to visit!

L.o.F.

One response to “Extreme list building part 4: The part where I use Excel

  1. Pingback: Extreme list building: Part 3: Orks | Lost on Fenris

Leave a Reply

