Extreme list building: Part 3: Orks

I should be back to a more normal type of post tomorrow but I thought that I’d slot in a couple of extra posts so that I can finish off this topic. I was aiming to post all four posts yesterday but I gave up some time around 10pm because I had work today.

I got distracted this weekend and decided to see just how few and how many models I could make a 1500 point list. Having done it for Space Wolves, I then decided to look at Chaos Daemons and Orks. In part one I covered Space Wolves, while in part two I covered Daemons. In part three I want to look at Orks. Although Orks are one of the older codices (I got slightly confused by the 4th Edition rules at one point) they’re more similar to Space Wolves than daemons in that they have plenty of options and Special Characters that let you take other things as troops. So these are the lists for the 1500 point lists with the fewest and most models. The rules are in part one. If you spot a mistake or want to add to this, feel free to comment.

Fewest models:

This list, surprise surprise, has a Special Character as a HQ. Ghazghkull Thraka lets you take one Nobz or Meganobz mob to be taken as troops. Its a bike heavy list as I used Nobz on bikes to boost the points count even more! What’s nice is that this is not the only possible ten model 1500 point army for Orks. You could swap the two extra troops and some of the bitz on the Warboss and Battle Wagon for other options.

HQ: Ghazghkull Thraka + Ammo runt (228pts)
HQ: Warboss + power klaw + twin-linked shoota + warbike + ammo runt + attack squig + cybork body + bosspole + ‘eavy armour (168 pts)
Troops: 3 x Nobz + bikes + stikbombz + power klaw + twin-linked shoota + ‘eavy armour + bosspole + Waaagh! Banner + Ammo runt + Cybork body, 1 x Painboy+ bike + stikbombz + power klaw + twin-linked shoota + ‘eavy armour + bosspole + Waaagh! Banner + Ammo runt + Grot orderly (465pts)
Troops: 2 x Nobz + bikes + power klaw + twin-linked shoota + ‘eavy armour + bosspole + Waaagh! Banner + Ammo runt + Cybork body, 1 x Painboy+ bike + stikbombz + power klaw + twin-linked shoota + ‘eavy armour + bosspole + Waaagh! Banner + Ammo runt + Grot orderly (354 pts)
Heavy Support: Battlewagon + killicannon + ‘ard case + deff rolla + red paint job + grot riggas + stikkbomb chukka + armour plates + boarding plank + wrecking ball + grabbin’ klaw + lobba + 4x rokkit launchas (285 pts)

= 10 models
= 1500 points

Total cost: €190.00
Average cost per model: €19
Average cost per point: €0.13

For the costing I used standard Warbikers as Games Workshop doesn’t do Nob or Warboss bikers (that’s Forgeworld’s job)

Most Models

…And now for something completely different! This list uses Gretchin. I’m actually wondering if this isn’t the largest 1500 point army (model count wise) in the game. It’s certainly one of the biggest, the troops alone take up about 0.12m2. Maybe Imperial Guard can take a larger list, but I don’t know.

HQ: Big Mek (35pts)
5 x Troops: 30 x Gretchin + 3 x Runtherd (645 pts)
1 x Troops: 29 x Gretchin + 3 x Runtherd (126 pts)
2 x Fast Attack: 20 x Stormboyz (480 pts)
1 x Fast Attack: 18 x Stormboyz (216 pts)

= 256 models
=1502 points

Total cost: €470.07
Average cost per model: €1.84
Average cost per point: €0.31

Well Orks are, well, Orks. I don’t know if I’d like to try and set up that last army!

Right, having collected all of this data I’ll be back with a short(ish) evaluation.

One response to “Extreme list building: Part 3: Orks

  1. Pingback: Extreme list building part 4: The part where I use Excel | Lost on Fenris

Leave a Reply

