“And they were all yellow…ish too”

So, Pack Nóh is all blue and I’m onto the shoulder pads. Now this is where things get tricky. I started out my models using the Games Workshop painting guide, so my Great Company markings are yellow and black, while Blood Claw pack markings are traditionally yellow and red. With most of the Citadel paints, even Skull White and Bleached Bone, I find that I can get almost uniform coverage after only two or three coats, however yellows (and reds to a lesser extent) require multiple layers of paint when painted directly on the undercoat. For my first pack of Grey Hunters I hadn’t really heard about foundation paints, so I lined my models up and painted a layer of yellow on the shoulder pads, then went round again and again in a sort of Space Wolves conga, as soon as I’d painted the yellow on the last guy, the first was ready for the next coat etc., etc….

Fortunately I soon bought a tub of Iyanden Darksun. It’s still not perfect as I have to use two coats of it to get a good even coating, but it dramatically reduces the time (and layers of Golden Yellow) required to get a niceish looking shoulder pad.

As a bit of an experiment I’ve sprayed a bit of sprue black and tried different base coats to see what gives the best yellow colour (in my opinion at least). You can see this in the picture below, which I’ve labelled (sorry, it’s the influence of work) as follows:

A: grey, B: control, C: white, D: Foundation yellow

A: base coat of two layers of 2:1 Space Wolves Grey to Shadow Grey

B: control

C: base coat of two layers of skull white

D: base coat of two layers of Iyanden Darksun

Each sample has increasing quantities (1, 2 or 3 layers) of Golden Yellow as you move from left to right.

As you can see, the control gives pretty poor coverage, the next worse is the yellow on blue sample, which is still quite poor. Using either Skull White of Iyanden Darksun appears to be the way to go. Skull White gives quite a bright yellow, while using Iyanden Darksun leads to a more natural tone.

I’ve ended up using Iyanden Darksun on my guys as I think the Skull White makes the yellow look a little too bright for my purposes. I did try mixing the two yellows together, but that doesn’t really work at all. The next job is to apply the Golden Yellow, but that might have to wait until the weekend. I’m writing this on the train as I’ve been working away today and it’s a three hour round trip, so I tend not to be that willing/able to spend an hour painting when I get home.

I’m itching to try out the design that I have planned for the pack markings at the moment, but I know that it’s not worth rushing, particularly as this is possibly the most complicated piece of freehand that I have done to date. It’s not the most complex design in the world, but it involves painting circles which I tend find to be a bit of a challenge when drawn freehand, as you have to get the speed just right, so that the circle is circular but not wobbly. Still, tomorrow’s Beer- sorry, Friday and then I have two days in which to paint. Perhaps I will get these guys painted a bit faster than my first Grey Hunter pack, which took several months to paint. I really hope so, I’ve been looking at those guys recently and I think that they’d look a lot better with a bit of highlighting and dry-brushing. I’ve got a whole list of things to build and paint before I should go back to them, but if I have a spare moment or two, perhaps I should un-box them and get the Space Wolves Grey out.

Talking about painting, I’ve been looking at the March issue of White Dwarf and the new Space Wolf and Tyranid models. I’m not particularly in to Thunderwolf Cavalry, I think they sound a bit silly, but I’m not going to explain exactly why here, as that will take a blog post of it’s own (or at least a big chunk of one), but the new models do look nice, and the Wolf Lord is quite cute in a broken-nosed sort of way. I will buy Fenrisian Wolves though as they’ve come out at exactly the right time for me, as I have an Idea, which they’ll be perfect for.

The thing I want to talk about though, is Tyranids. I love my Wolves and I have a nice sized army planned for them, but I have a couple of ideas bouncing round my head. One idea is crippled due to lack of any-way-suitable models that are not metal, elves or third-party-and-bodging, but the other thing that’s been stumbling around my brain is: “I should do a Xenos army, as that will be different to paint.” Tyranids fit my plan best and I already have an idea for a paint scheme, although I am most definitely not buying any for quite a while, as there is one enemy that can defeat Tyranids by its very presence and that is the Thesis. The thing is, I’ve been looking at all these gorgeous pictures except for the ones of the Tervigon, which I glance at briefly before shuddering and turning away. It’s all the flesh colour I think. Every picture in White Dwarf shows her/it with big pink fleshy booby-like egg sacs, that hang pendulously down. I can’t look at them without feeling vaguely nauseous. In some ways I guess that it shows that the painter has got it right, as the Tervigon is not meant to be nice, but I don’t know that I’d like to play with/against or paint it. It’s silly, I know.

Anyway, I’m less than two stations away from home, so I guess that I should wrap up this post!

L.o.F.

Leave a Reply

